perloader

Degrees


Organizational Leadership

Public Service

A concentration in public service will prepare students for employment in any area of the public sector including public safety (law enforcement, fire and rescue), state and local public administrators, non-profit management, and public relations to name a few.

Available at these partner institutions
Area A-E (42 hours)
Area F (18 hours approved by advisor)
Major Core (30 hours) Required for all concentrations
Course Course Title Hours
ORGL 2050 (ACED 2050) Communications for the Workplace 3
ORGL 3400 (ACED 3400) Technology for Organizations 3
POLS 4218 (ACED 4820/POLS 4860) Project Management in the Public Sector 3
ENGL 3405 (ENGL 3010/3030) Professional and Technical Writing 3
POLS 4200 (POLS 3600) Principles of Public Administration 3
POLS 4219 (POLS 4610) Public Human Resource Management 3
POLS 4204 (POLS 4620) Public Finance 3
ORGL 3200 (PSYC 3800) Introduction to Organizational Development 3
ORGL 3000 Reflective Seminar I: Self as Learner 1
ORGL 3050 Reflective Seminar II: Self in Context 1
ORGL 4000 Reflective Seminar III: Transforming Self, Self-Transformation 1
ORGL 4690 Organizational Leadership Capstone 3
Upper Level Guided Electives
(12 hrs) (pick 12 hours (4 courses) from the following)
Course Course Title Hours
ORGL 4900 Internship 3
POLS 3601 (POLS 3100) POLS Methods 3
POLS 3201 (POLS 3610) Public Policy 3
POLS 4220 (POLS 4220) Administrative Law and Government 3
POLS 4221 (POLS 4600) Government Organization and Administrative Theory 3
POLS 4202 (POLS 4650) Interorganizational Behavior 3
COMM 3330 (POLS 4860) Advanced Communication Skills 3
POLS 4215 (POLS 4860) Management of Non-Profit Organizations 3
PHIL 4120 (POLS 4860) Professional Ethics 3
POLS 4217 (POLS 4860)
3
POLS 4210 (POLS 4860) Public Management 3
POLS 4860 Special Topics 3
General Electives (18 hours) as approved by advisor

Transfer credit and lower-level coursework can be used to satisfy this requirement.

Name Courses Office Phone Email
Kathleen Barrett POLS 4219 University of West Georgia
1601 Maple Street, Carrollton, GA 30117
678-839-6504kbarrett@westga.edu
Sheikh Drammeh POLS 4218 University of West Georgia
1601 Maple Street, Carrollton, GA 30118
770-316-2043sdrammeh@westga.edu
Anthony Fleming POLS 4200 University of West Georgia
1601 Maple Street, Carrollton, GA 30117
678-839-4998afleming@westga.edu
Rufus Green POLS 4218 Fort Valley State University
1005 State University Drive, Fort Valley, GA 31030
478-825-6231greenr01@fvsu.edu
Wendy Knight Kennedy ORGL 3000, ORGL 3050, ORGL 4000 Darton State College
2400 Gillionville Road Albany, GA 31707
229-317-4043 wendy.kennedy@darton.edu
Sarah Kuck ORGL 4690 Darton State College
2400 Gillionville Road Albany, GA 31707
229-317-6805sarah.kuck@darton.edu
Stevie Lawrence POLS 4219 Fort Valley State University
1005 State University Drive, Fort Valley, GA 31030
478-825-1018lawrences@fvsu.edu
Crystal Shelnutt ENGL 3405 University of West Georgia
1601 Maple Street, Carrollton, GA 30117
678-839-4858cshelnut@westga.edu
Lori Snaith ORGL 2050 University of West Georgia
1601 Maple Street, Carrollton, GA 30117
678-839-4873lsnaith@westga.edu
Corrine Sweet ORGL 2050 Darton State College
2400 Gillionville Road Albany, GA 31707
229-317-6523corrine.sweet@darton.edu
Top